**FULL-TEXT** nterconfessional Dialogues



Document Online www.prounione.it/dialogues/cpce-rc

CPCE - RC

## "COMMUNION OF PROTESTANT CHURCHES IN EUROPE [CPCE] – ROMAN CATHOLIC" sponsors: Communion of Protestant Churches in Europe [CPCE] [ www.leuenberg.eu ]

and the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity

formerly Secretariat for Promoting Christian Unity [www.christianunity.va]

## CONSULTATIONS:

1. February 8-9, 2013- Vienna, Austria

"Focus on the understanding of the concept of Church and on what the expression 'aims of ecumenism' involves; study of two fundamental texts: the 1994 document «The Church of Christ», published at the conclusion of the doctrinal conversations of the CPCE and the evaluation of the evangelical-catholic dialogue results as presented by Cardinal Walter Kasper "

- 2. December 15 -17, 2013 Ludwigshafen, Germany
- 3. June 26-27, 2014 Ludwigshafen, Germany "Justification and Church; ground and form, including sacramentality; ordained ministry and universal priesthood"
- 4. December 13-14, 2014 Cambridge,UK "Concept of the Church and definition of the ecumenical aim"
- 5. June 28-29, 2016 Erfurt, Germany
- 6. October 27-28, 2016 Frankfurt, Germany
- September 13-18, 2018 Basel, Switzerland
  "8<sup>th</sup> General Assembly of the Communion of Protestant Churches in Europe (CPCE) receives the 'Report on Church and Church Communion'" - FINAL REPORT
- 8. September 7, 2021 Rome, Italy *"The planning of the dialogue to begin in 2022"*

CO-CHAIRS:	Bishop Friedrich Weber (Braunschweig) Protestant (2013-2015) Dr. Christian Schad (Speyer) Union of Evangelical Churches (2015-2018) Bishop Karl-Heinz Wiesemann (Speyer) Catholic
CO-SECRETARIES:	Prof. Dr. Martin Friedrich (Vienna, Austria) Msgr. Dr. Matthias Türk (Vatican City)

Website www.prounione.it Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity Most Rev. Philip Boyce, OCD Bishop of Raphoe (Ireland) Prof. Dr. Michel Deneken (Strasbourg, France) Prof. Dr. Josef Freitag (Erfurt, Germany) Prof. Dr. Angelo Maffeis (Brescia, Italy) Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Thönissen (Paderborn, Germany) Prof. Dr. Myriam Wijlens (Erfurt, Germany) Communion of Protestant Churches in Europe Dr. John Bradbury (Cambridge, Great-Britain) Prof. Dr. Stephanie Dietrich (Oslo, Norway) Prof. Dr. Fulvio Ferrario (Rome, Italy) Prof. Dr. Friederike Nüssel (Heidelberg, Germany) Prof. Dr. Miriam Rose (Jena, Germany) Prof. Dr. Stefan Tobler (Hermannstadt/Sibiu, Romania)

## DIALOGUE

## "Towards a Common Understanding of Church: Reassurance, Deepening, Outlook"

2022-

- MEETINGS: September 7, 2021 - Rome, Italy *"The planning of the dialogue to begin in 2022 "*
- 1. April 19-22, 2022 Basel, Switzerland "The first session served to get to develop relationships, to identify the topics to be treated more precisely and to agree on the next steps" – COMMUNIQUÉ
- 2. November 3-4, 2022 Augsburg, Germany "The session dealt with possible common ground in the understanding of the church" – COMMUNIQUÉ
- 3. April 19-21, 2022 Paris, France "The session discussed the understanding of the church and church communion" – COMMUNIQUÉ
- 4. November 2-4, 2023 Augsburg, Germany "The session discussed possible common ground in the understanding of the church. The aim of the dialogue, agreed between CPCE and the DPCU in autumn 2018, is a common word on the unity, holiness, catholicity and apostolicity of the church." – COMMUNIQUÉ
- 5. April, 2024 Tallinn, Estonia

CO-LEADERS: President Dr. John Bradbury, London Protestant Bishop Dr. Bertram Meier, Augsburg Catholic

CO-SECRETARIES: Prof. Dr. Thomas-Andreas Põder, Tallinn/Vienna. Protestant Father Dr. Augustinus Sander OSB, Vatican City

Dicastery for Promoting Christian Unity Bishop Dr. Bertram Meier, Augsburg (Head of Delegation) Prof. Dr. Barbara Hallensleben, Fribourg Privatdozent Dr. Liborius Olaf Lumma, Innsbruck Prof. Dr. Aimable Musoni SDB, Rome Delegation secretary: Father Dr. Augustinus Sander OSB, Vatican City

Communion of Protestant Churches in Europe President Dr. John Bradbury, London (Head of Delegation) Bishop Prof. Dr. Marcin Hintz, Sopot Prof. Dr. Paul Nimmo, Aberdeen Prof. Dr. Friederike Nüssel, Munich/ Heidelberg Delegation secretary: Prof. Dr. Thomas-Andreas Põder, Tallinn/Vienna